68 million litres

tailfeathers

R.O.C. (Radio Operator's Certificate)
London free press is reporting the spill of 68 million litres of sewage due to the heavy January rainfall. Just imagine if that were a farmer. It,s easy to point fingers at a very small percentage of the population but as a farmer I gotta say she!£# happens but if half the cities on our great lakes had spills our lake might be a little green. Without some nutrients our lakes would die but this is ridiculous.

Having worked in the wastewater treatment industry for 35 years it irks the OIC { operator in charge} to no end when we have to do a By-pass but if we didn't the cost in terms of infrastructure or operational damage dictates we have no choice and must follow a MOE criteria in order to do so. Most Canadian cities have plans in place to separate sanitary from storm sewers and building run off ponds for storm water , unfortunately this takes time and money and taxpayers hate seeing their water/wastewater bill go up. I know 68 million liters sounds like a lot but considering the water down effect of the rain and/or as in a controlled By-pass Event it would or should have been disinfected by some means.

So if a farmer has a breach of his manure storage or spreads on frozen ground a 1000 litres its not acceptable and he will be fined likely out of business but a city can release millions of litres and maybe get a slap on the wrist. I,m not advocating either example but will say liquid cow or pig poo is diluted as well. Still not acceptable.

This is common practice , nothing new. Always been and will be. It didn't state in article but it was most likely what is called primary treated , which is just dosed with chlorine and sent on down the line.

This is common practice , nothing new. Always been and will be. It didn't state in article but it was most likely what is called primary treated , which is just dosed with chlorine and sent on down the line.