Lobster Question

Outdorman

R.O.C. (Radio Operator's Certificate)
haven't done this a lot, is it better to boil or steam whole lobsters? Any preferences? I'm trying to remember and I think 12-15 minuets then check tail temp with a probe.

Lots of salt in the water; (ideally seawater, but that's hard to source here), put about 2 inches in the lidded pan, and when the small legs pull off easily, they are done. This is how I was taught by my sister in law from PEI.

We boil two 1.5 lb chicks every Valentine’s Day. I do whatever the google guy says. Never rubberized them. Lotsa butter and lotsa garlic.

It's a personal preference really. Some prefer to steam. Some prefer to boil.

General rule of thumb for Lobster when boiling.......Salt the water, bring to a boil, put the lobster in head first. Cook for 7-10 minutes for the first pound, 2-3 minutes for each additional pound.

Generally when steaming......10 minutes per pound.

Been a long time since I worked in a restaurant where we served lobster, but on average we were boiling them for 12-15 minutes at most depending on the weight of the lobster the customer chose. (Yeah we had a tank with both crabs and lobster and the customer got to choose which one they wanted)

The other thing to do is to immediately put the cooked lobster into an ice water bath as soon as it's out of the pot to slow/stop the cooking process. Remember, it WILL continue to cook if you don't and that is generally what leads to the "rubbery" texture you hear of.

Lots of salt in the water; (ideally seawater, but that's hard to source here), put about 2 inches in the lidded pan, and when the small legs pull off easily, they are done. This is how I was taught by my sister in law from PEI.
so you're saying to steam them?

We've been vacationing in Maine for 25 years and eat a lot of lobster when we're there.
Wife likes softshells, I like hardshells. 1.5-2lb seem the best eating.
We always boil..8 min for softshell, 10 mins for hardshell then on ice.