Detroit river walleye run

fish4fun

I will start with I am a complete newbie to the Detroit river......never been before. So I have a few questions and I was hoping to get some pointers.

1.) what month does it typically start? March or April ? I know it's temperature dependant, not calendar dependant.... Just looking ball park guess.
2.) best launch to use? ( coming from london area) also don't mind paying for a good ramp and parking.
3.) the border issue..... Should you buy both Ontario and Michigan fishing licence ? Or is it easy enough to stay on the Ontario side and catch fish.

Thanks in advance ...... Can't wait to get the boat back out...... Should not have put it away this year.

1) April would be better but yep temp dependent. Generally right after ice out in the spring.

2) marina on riverside drive, can't remember the name, good access, Good ramp, close to downtown and good fishing, City Marina maybe?

3) if you have a good gps it's easy to watch the line, without it there are so many bends in the river you wouldn't be able to use landmarks, the border isn't just in the middle it's all over the place.

Thanks, for the suggestions , i do have good GPS, I was just wondering if for some reason or the other it made sense to have both licences as you might have to fish the U.S. Side to get action some days..... Like I said I have never been, and it would be my luck that that I would go down with just an ont license, and on the U.S. Side, non stop action..... I was stuck on ontario and could not chase the eyes...... I could be completely wrong and worrying over nothing. Thanks again