Treating Emerald Shiners?

JohnPK

I have tried a few things regarding treating Emerald Shiners for perch fishing in summer when it's tough to get live ones. Salting then freezing makes a huge mess in my boat when I use them and we all know salt everywhere in a boat isn't a good thing. Online I read about some using borax with brine...trying that with some now and I purchased some green Fire Brine....last time I used it, the minnows almost disintegrated when thawed out. Anyone have suggestions would be appreciated. Of course I freeze them after treated.

Late reply, but thanks Woodsman. I tried some Fire Brine again with some, works great, and also did some up with pickling salt as before. Won't be long till time for some perchin fun !

I like this idea. I'll give it a try this season. Makes sense to me. I've used the fire brine and colour brines for steelhead and salmon. Half the minnows die before they get to the hook anyway.

I've been using the Michigan Angler recipe for 5 years now with a few modifications and have great usable minnows. I use 2 gallons of brine water from my water softener
or mix enough salt in 2 gals of hot water ahead of time. It needs to be super saturated with salt. Take this brine with you when you go to get minnows, either buying a few scoops or dipping your