Question on Lead Core setup

FisherPrice

I am new to the lead core set up. Always used riggers in the past. With all the recent talk of this method, I have decided to set some of my rods up with this.

My understanding is that I start my reel with +/- 100 yards of mono, then add my 100 yards of 10 color lead core. From there use another piece of mono +/- five feet to a snap swivel where I attach my lure.

For the experts out there...Does this sound correct??

Thanks in advance.

i would use at the least a 25 foot leader so that you would have a few turns around the spool when the fish arrives to the boat.

I use braid for the backing due to the fact that 100 yards of leadcore takes a lot of reel space and flouro for the leader(20-30ft).
I strip about 4" of lead out of the sheathe and use the albright knot http://www.animatedknots.com/albrig...ge=LogoGrog.jpg&Website=www.animatedknots.com to tie it together. Use the braid as the blue line on the braid to leadcore knot and the leadcore as the blue line on the leadcore to flouro knot. Double uni is also good but I find that the albright comes through the guide easier. Clip a greasy chicken wing on 10 colour and you're good to go.
Double_uni.jpg

Just be careful that your backing and core will all fit on your reel. I once tried to put backing and 10 colour on a reel that I had mono on for downrigging and it wouldn't all fit on. I agree...about 25 feet of fluorocarbon or mono is good as you need to retie occasionally and lose a few inches each time.

i like using a double overhand knot, after removing and replacing 4 inches off the inner lead with your backing.

a small needle will be needed to thread braid through the sheath because of its limpness.

I prefer a reel with a line counter once you find the fish you just let out a same amount of line