Discussion on Dipsy's

nubutlernin

I am still fairly new to walleye fishing deep on Lake Erie. I like using dipsy's but am unsure as to the reliability of the charts as far as how much line to get to certain depths.
I have a Walker 107 and a Dipsy #1, which pretty much look the same size.
I run 15-20lb mono.

The other day I was out and was marking fish at 62 ft of water, one with a ripplin and the other with a spoon and was running 2-2.5 mph.

How much line would you be letting out to get to the correct depths?
I tried anywhere from 120 ft, up to 200. Didn't get any hits, but that may be just picky pics lol.

Just looking for experienced advice.
Thanks!

What setting where you on ?
Dipsey with or without the ring?
The walker will run a little shallower than the dipsey with ring.
I would highly recommend you purchase a second #1 dipsey. This will make life much easier if you are getting fish with 100ft out on one match that on the second one.

Might want to get braid on your dipsey reel. You want as little stretch as possible to help fine tune the depth but keep in mind that the charts are an approximate guide. Depending on your sonar you might also want to try turning up the sensitivity to see if you can find it down there and then adjust accordingly

@nubutlernin Have a look at this thread from September 2019

'September Thread

Fishing was tough, the boat was fishing mid 60s and the fish were lying on bottom. The thread includes the line lengths and dipsy settings.

Always use braid with dipsys, #50 braid same diameter as #15 mono and zero stretch.

You will never get the dipsy to release with the amount of stretch there is in mono that far back.

Last edited:
Charts are also based on speed so there is variables.
you can always let out line until dipsy starts bouncing off the bottom
Compare your line counter to what the chart says your depth should be and what the fish finder says the bottom is.

I had them both at 0.
What setting where you on ?