Bunk trailer replacement Questions.

Tcat

Hi Guys While winterizing the boat noticed it's time to replace the Bunk trailer boards and carpeting. What's everyone's using for material and wood.I assume 2x6s.Also where do you get carpeting from? Thanks in advance.

FWIW I've heard great things about using composite lumber for bunks. Cost more but will outlast the boat, the trailer, the owner...

Some people don't even carpet them but I would worry about the boat just sliding off at the ramp. Wouldn't be able to staple on the carpet either but I would think carpet adhesive would bond nicely.

Make sure you don’t fully wrap the wood in carpet. Leave opening and the wood exposed on the bottom side to allow the water to drain and the wood to dry so it doesn’t rot. You will get a longer life by doing it this way

Sometimes you can re-use the carpeting. Agree with lazywave although I have no experience to prove the concept works. I used treated 2x6 lumber to replace 4 original bunks that lasted 11 years. Have had mixed experience with treated lumber and can only say that it does not compare with cedar for use as fence posts. I have some fence posts that are 44 years old and are still fine. Have replaced treated posts less than half that age.

I called Extreme Marine before I posted on Stomps68.Guy I talked to was most helpful has 11 inch carpet $3 a foot, and 18 inch by 18 feet for $100 a roll. I thought the same thing about with 18 inch carpet how would the wood dry. Was thinking more on the lines of 11 inch with bottom of wood left open for better drying.

Redid mine this spring. As mentioned above if your boat is aluminum don't use PT. Replace with the same length and width or else things like transducers or hull ribs may not align properly. CAS marine in Ayr had 12 foot rolls for 50 bucks. So far holding up perfectly. The most fun was actually lifting the boat off in the garage. A little nerve wracking.