Anyone into recurve/long/trad bows? Any good places to shop in store?

Octavius Brine

Hi all,

I am new to this but eager to learn and I want to buy my first bow (no big rush here though, need to find somewhere in/near Cambridge to practice too!). Eventually I'd like to hunt small game, maybe deer... any advice or recommendations are welcome, especially where to go to shop in person and find knowledgeable staff. I am a lanky 6'5" and probably need good help in finding something that suits me.

I realize that just starting out I would probably be more successful hunting with a compound, crossbow or gun, but I am most interested in a takedown recurve bow for now. I am into this for the thrill of the chase, time outdoors etc and won't be brokenhearted if I can't take an animal. I am kind of the same way with fishing. I am happy to get out on the water and it is great catching a nice eater, but I've had plenty of excellent days getting skunked too :ROFLMAO:

Any and all advice appreciated!

I'm not a trad bow guy, but hunting small game is a fantastic way to get into the hobby. You can lose a few arrows or tips in stumps, but arrows are for flinging. Getting elevated can help with arrow recovery. A little corn and a tree stand and you'll have a pot of squirrels for supper in no time.

You'll find a wealth of knowledge at the Archer's Nook in London. Shooter's Choice is closer and I've heard great things but I'm partial to my local shop.

I have used the bow shop in Waterloo for over 25 years and they are full of knowledge. I shoot a compound and not traditional so I wouldn’t be any help to you but the oldest son of the old owners of the bow shop runs it now and I have found him to be very knowledgeable and not afraid to take the time to educate you.