VHF question

Hunter96

I'm new to fishing Lake Erie and was wondering about the use of vhf radios? Hand held or mount and what make and model you use? Also do we need to take a course before I can use it legally?
I am looking to buy one for my 1750 rebel Lund before I go out of port burwell and just wanted your thought on it.
Thanks to all!

Hi Hunter 96 A vhf radio is a must if you are going out on the greatlakes.I personally have a mounted one with a 6ft antenna better distance I believe. My vhf came with the boat,the newer models have more features like a red button that the cost guard can get exact location of your vessel. It is recommended to take a course through the power sail squadron in your area.

I will look into the course. I'm not sure if I want to go with a mount or hand held. From what I understand the taller the antenna the longer the reception because of the line if sight on the horizon.
Hoping guys will chim in on hand held as well if they use them

I use a mounted unit as well I'm sure a hand held unit will work fine and allow you to talk and listen to guys around you the mounted units give you more range but rarely do I ever talk to anyone to far away lol so if you allready own a hand held I'd try it

You're required by law to get a ROC-M operators certificate through the Canadian Power Squadron to operate the radio but I'm sure the vast majority of people do not get one. You do not require a Station License if you are operating a pleasure craft in Canadian waters but you do need one if operating it in US waters. There is a course coming up in June in Port Dover, here is the link:

http://www.boatingcourses.ca/course-descriptions/maritime-radio-0

If you are counting on using it in an emergency, it only makes sense to know how to use it properly which is what the course is about. I have a hand held and a mounted unit and the mounted units range is vastly superior.

Last edited: