PIKE In Long Pt Bay?

GDOG

I am still pretty new to fishing the bay.
What size of Pike inside the bay is considered big?

I have seen some very small pike in the cuts lately but nothing bugger than 2lb ish. Have the larger ones left by now and are in deeper water...and harder to catch? I met a group fishing around Potahock pt and they had caught one 5lbs and considered it Big.

Do any of you veteran bay guys have a theory on the movement of larger pike after the spawn, water temps, depths etc.
I have found it interesting to talk with a few of the better known guys about Pike in the bay. Everyone has said Bluff bar is the place in the next few weeks but even then there doesn't seem to be many catching anything larger than 5-10lbers. I do not have the boat needed to fish Bluff bar or too far from Old cut. This is not about looking for spots. If any of you know about any MNR studies on LP Pike please direct me to the right spot to review.
I couldn't fish the pike tourney yesterday but if any of those fishermen have any thoughts please jump in.

Thanks!

GDOG - I've fished pike in this area since 1980 and after receiving my Lake Erie Diarist 2016 total catch summery it looks like I reported 196 last year. I can tell you that personally I have never landed a pike that exceeded 14 pounds in this area. 5 to 10 pounders are fairly common but we only get a few 11 to 14 pounders a year. I've seen and lost fish up to maybe 18 pounds but the biggest certified catch I know of was about 23 pounds and caught before I moved here. You can check with the LPBAA or the Strait Line Anglers who run annual tournaments for a more objective sample weights.

Last edited: