Any heavy metal lovers out there?

Mrs. Stomp

Staff member
Not this kind of heavy metal…

but this kind…

IMG_0872.jpg

Santa delivered to me 2 cast iron frying pans for Christmas – a grill pan and a regular flat bottom one. They are Lodge brand and come pre-seasoned. The grill pan does a great job with bacon and chicken thighs, but most things I cook in the flat bottom pan stick unless I use tons of oil. I don’t scrub them furiously, don’t use soap, ensure they are dried after using and have re-seasoned both of them, but still lots of stuck-on food.

I’m a newbie at cast iron cooking so I’d appreciate any tips from the pros!

You mean this type of metal?

hvmtl.jpg

Yup, big fan, but they are not nearly the quality of days of old and require continuous maintenance.

I had a Chef buddy who seasoned with salt and then an oil application at the end. Now it's just cover in oil and bake and bake and bake.

Maybe have a look a this process. They say initial seasoning is a multiple process, not a single one.

Serious Eats Article

Some pretty good comments on seasoning Included below the article.

From personal experience, nothing, not even your oil goes in until the pan is at cooking temps.

Clean up is easier if done when still quite warm.

Last edited:
You mean this type of metal?

View attachment 38253

Yup, big fan, but they are not nearly the quality of days of old and require continuous maintenance.

I had a Chef buddy who seasoned with salt and then an oil application at the end. Now it's just cover in oil and bake and bake and bake.

Maybe have a look a this process. They say initial seasoning is a multiple process, not a single one.

Serious Eats Article

Some pretty good comments on seasoning Included below the article.

From personal experience, nothing, not even your oil goes in until the pan is at cooking temps.

Clean up is easier if done when still quite warm.