Tablefare...

jammer

R.O.C. (Radio Operator's Certificate)
As much as I love to fish I love to eat it as well...

I've grown as a angler and cook over the years to make the best tablefare possible...

I don't keep any fish over 8lbs... I bleed them out and to ice asap... When I clean them all belly meat is discarded...

I know alot of people turn there nose up at bows but I love them small and fresh...

20220620_145153.jpg20220621_085102.jpg

Yep! I'm a graduate of the same school excepting 5 pounds is my limit for trout and salmon and 4 pounds for walleye and pike. With perch my preference is 9" to 10" although I rarely refuse anything over 8". 8 inchers are great eating just not much of a return for the effort required to fillet them. Why I keep perch 12" and over is a mystery. I guess everyone is really impressed with a catch of Jumbo's but even my grandchildren empty a platter of prepared fillets with the jumbo's left to the end or not consumed at all.

Yep! I'm a graduate of the same school excepting 5 pounds is my limit for trout and salmon and 4 pounds for walleye and pike. With perch my preference is 9" to 10" although I rarely refuse anything over 8". 8 inchers are great eating just not much of a return for the effort required to fillet them. Why I keep perch 12" and over is a mystery. I guess everyone is really impressed with a catch of Jumbo's but even my grandchildren empty a platter of prepared fillets with the jumbo's left to the end or not consumed at all.
7.5" - 9" are my fav perch too... 😉

I love rainbow. I like to gut them, fill the cavity with lemon and orange slices wrap in tin foil and put on the BBQ. If I do get a bigger one I like to smoke it and make rainbow salad sandwiches. I just break it up, add mayo and green onion, my kids love it too.
I always make a extra piece for either breakfast or sandwiches too...