Where to get started fishing the big water?

Wildfire

R.O.C. (Radio Operator's Certificate)
Hi everyone!

I feel like a total newb asking this. I've fished the inner bay for many years from a small boat, but this year we finally upgraded to a 20' and I'm looking forward to getting out in the bigger water for some eyes, trout, midsummer smallmouth, etc. Problem is, I have no idea what to do out there. I can drag a tube near Millionaires or rip a crankbait through the reeds off EC5 with the best of them, but that's all I've ever done. Any tips on how to get started in the outer bay, or out of Maitland or Colborne?

Sounds like you need to know where the sanctuary is in the inner bay or it's 300$ fine if you get it wrong. See ya I'm an idiot post. I got a few lakers at the Elbow this time last year. Down riggers and big spoons. Drag deep diving cranks for Pics or spoons off Dipseys. Lead core and riggers work for Pics too. Catch a Pic mark the spot then circle around and over it a least a couple times. Check your line a least every 1/2 hour you might be dragging a small pic . If you pop your line from a down rigger release to check it and no fish let it work for another couple minutes you get hits as the lure comes up. If you see a bunch of boats fishing they might know what they're doing. Just don't be That guy. When the fishing gets good lots of guys will say were and how deep. Maybe get a marine radio and listen to channel 68.

Outside the inner bay, rocky structure anywhere from 4 ft to 20 ft depth will hold smallmouth all summer. There are endless places to try along the north shore between Nanticoke and Port Colborne. Look for "macro" structure first, e.g. points and shoals. Then in those areas, look for secondary elements to hold fish - smaller ridges/points/dropoffs, broken rock, boulders. For lures, try a jerkbait... :censored: