Ontario Raises required Ethanol Content in Gasoline

G.Mech

R.O.C. (Radio Operator's Certificate)
It looks like we're going to have to deal with even more ethanol in our fuels now that the Ontario government has mandated 10% average ethanol content in gasoline. The current 5% and the new 10% are the average content across all blends so unless they can put 15% in the regular or something, we're likely going to see some ethanol in the premium blends. Currently regular has up to 10% which allows them to keep the premium ethanol free but most cars can't handle any more than 10% so it's hard to say what the fuel companies are going to do to achieve the new averages. At any rate, this is not good news for boaters & small engine users....

https://www.theglobeandmail.com/rep...-ethanol-content-requirement/article37145115/

Yeah, I worked in the industry for most of my career but am no longer in a position to know what is really going on. Historically ethanol free premium fuel was harder to come by than we were lead to believe. Consumers are the losers as usual. Politically ethanol makes sense because it supports agriculture and technically produces less unwanted carbon dioxide but it is a poor substitute for gasoline, does not provide good mileage and causes consumers and especially boaters problems. The amount of carbon dioxide generated in producing the crops and the manufacture and distribution of ethanol is conveniently forgotten.

This is bad news.
I had some serious issues with regular gas in my 2hp Yamaha a few years back on a canoe trip up north. The plug getting getting fouled - I had to take the plug out clean it or put a new one in. Then the yami would only go for about 20min and foul up again. The lodge owner gave us a gas additive and it seemed to clear up the problem.

Now we use premium gas along with the gas additive. So far, no problems with plugs fouling BUT if they add ethanol to premium gas, then who knows.

WR