Elbow Help with Dipsy

BoDren

New too the whole big lake pickeral fishing. Just picked up two counter rods and a couple dipsy divers. Wanted to try to get some fish at the elbow but have some questions. Can i get down deep enough using dipsys? What kind of lures do I want to use? What kind of speeds am I looking at? Or any other information would be great. Will be down at my cottage toninght at long point and tomorrow so any info or advice would be great. Free beer for anyone who wants to come over and give advice lol

Hey @BoDren

K so here as a few tips I've learned:
I'm no expert at trolling long lines myself but have had some success with Dispey's and fortunate enought to have a tw0 Bro in laws that know their stuff too!

1) Dipsey colour, if you want Eye's go for black or purple ( less flash the better ).

2) I use both # 0 and # 1 dipsey's and set my oustide lines to # 3 setting and inside lines at # 0 or # 1 settng. ( # 3 setting will make them swing out farthr and # 0 setting will make them go down farther. the more line out the deeper it goes as well.

3) As far as trolling speed I normally go about 2.5 to 3 mph on my gps, but hey try diff speds and shake things up if its a slow bite.

4) Make sure to tune your dipsey's, check screws aren't too tight or loose on the release as that will loose you a lot of fish. Keep a screw driver in the boat too.

5) Set your drag just tight enough that line isn't coming out when trolling , ( have the clicker on the reel on ) as eye's hit light some times and you can take them for a ride if the drag is too tight and the disepy release is not tuned up.

6) I use spoons a lot, mostly copper backed, but have has some luck with silver backed too, cranks too if you have em.
Spoons - Greesy chicken wing, Monkey puke, Nascar, Watermelon, Blueberry muffin are a few.

7) Cpl links to apps if you want.
http://dipsytroller.com/dipsy-diver/
http://m.eroe.store.aptoide.com/app/market/com.AC.DipsyDiver/3/4460060/AcuDipsy AcuTroller