Winter dispey thoughts

lazywave

Been running Dispeys my whole life and love them for walleye. This past summer I met a fellow fisherman who runs wire line on his dispey rods and swears by it. Wonder if anyone else does this and pros/cons of wire line before I consider making the switch. Thanks in advance

I've been running wire dipseys for the last 18 years... Can't remember the last time I used braid... ZERO stretch... Can feel every twitch of the fish... Easier if there is seafleas for cleanup... They say it attracts fish... 9/10 it catches my biggest fish of the day...

Thanks for the reply jammer! How bad is it if it happens to tangle or something like that

I agree with Jammer. I too have been running wire for, well, a long time. I generally have two braid and two wire divers in the water. I would agree that the largest fish seem to come off the wire divers. I like the torpedo brand braided wire. Works well for me. If it kinks, it’s strength is compromised , but if treated properly kinks or tangles are not common. Make sure the rod you plan on using will handle the wire line. I use twiley tips. Others use roller ends. That’s a matter of preference I think. Guides need to be able to handle the abrasive nature of the wire. A pissed off 20 lb King with a hook in its face tends to put some pressure on a pole and a little stress on eyelets.