What outrigger release clips are the best for downrigger troling?

borg

Hi Guys,

Newbie here at trolling with downriggers.
Just got my first downrigger.
I have one clip (plastic black with yellow tip).
What are the best release clips?
I see that there are plastic red ones, black yellow, so many options.
What will be good for 60 to 120 FOW for spoons to use as a clip release?
I see that there are some with power strength or medium.

Any advice on what to buy will be greatly appreciated.
THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR TIME!
Tight lines in the new season.

There are a variety that will work well. The key is to get ones that will release for the fish your after. For walleye you want something that holds the very light and releases easily. If not you will tow the small fish around without realizing they are on. If your running a dodger and fly for salmon, you need something that will hold tight as speed changes on a big setup will make them pop. I have some scotty's that work for me. There are adjustable tension models out there as well.

Hi Guys,

Newbie here at trolling with downriggers.
Just got my first downrigger.
I have one clip (plastic black with yellow tip).
What are the best release clips?
I see that there are plastic red ones, black yellow, so many options.
What will be good for 60 to 120 FOW for spoons to use as a clip release?
I see that there are some with power strength or medium.

Any advice on what to buy will be greatly appreciated.
THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR TIME!
Tight lines in the new season.
Offshore OR4 light release for Walleye and I also use it for northern Lake Trout (white colour)

Offshore OR1 medium release for salmon (black colour)

I noticed Angling Outfitters had a display of them the last time I was there.

At least I'm pretty sure I saw them on the end of an isle.