Speed Question

fishquest

Just wondering what speed seems to be best for walleye trolling. I'm using both downriggers and dipsies. Last week out I was trolling around 1.9-2 mph and had limited success. After searching a bit on here seems I was probably too slow.

Would love some suggestions on whats working or what is recommended. I'm new to the big lakes fishing and have learned alot on here so far but still lots more to learn.

Thanks

Mike

Speed varies with the underwater currents. My best suggestion for you would be to invest in a speed / temp unit at the ball. Just because your boat gps says 2.7 mph does not mean that is the speed of the lure. I have a depth raider and it is one of the best investments I have made. As far as speed for walleye I go between 2.3- 2.9 mph at the ball depending on what your dragging. Slower for harnesses and faster for spoons and in between for body baits. Hope this helps somewhat

Well if you are running spoons and crank baits..id say 2.25 to 3.25 mph on your graph...if running harness id be at 1.5 to 2.0 mph
Now it changes east or west of elbow...in the east harness slower troll produces...but to the west spoons etc faster troll produces...hope this helps...but not sure why it changes from central to east basins in presentation...have to ask the fish gods for that info ...lol

from what we are seeing, make sure you are running deep enough. we've been running riggers at 48-55' down in 52-60' of water and dipseys #1's at 3 settings somewhere between 140 and 150 back.