Planner Board Help

propane

Need some help with this one. I have a Church Tackle TX-44 board. I have never had any luck getting it to pull smoth in the water like the other board ( Off Shore ) this board keeps pulling then skips / pulls to get cought up then pulls again. I run it on a med action heavy rod and its like you got a fish no wait its just the board pulling back and forth .. you would never know if you have a fish or not.
Any thoughts ??

Personally I like the Offshore boards because of this reason you mention. The Church boards do not run as smoothly for me but I am not an expert either.

Are you pulling it upside down and on the wrong side? I know I have done that.

Are you pulling it upside down and on the wrong side? I know I have done that.

What do you mean Albert? I started running smaller boards last year with Wormdunker and had no problem but with calmer waters. Do boards have a side to run like setting Dipsy's? I had only run big boards from a mast before. I'm new at it too and am going to buy 2 boards.

Last edited:
Planner%20Board_zpsvyt88bhb.jpg

Sorry the above should read starboard (right side) of boat.

For the smaller boards like what the OP was asking about the wedge always faces the boat

Small%20board_zpsbnltmam3.jpg

Last edited:
What do you mean Albert? I started running smaller boards last year with Wormdunker and had no problem but with calmer waters. Do boards have a side to run like setting Dipsy's? I had only run big boards from a mast before. I'm new at it too and am going to buy 2 boards.

Pick up some plywood, threaded rod, and eyehooks, come by and we can make a pair for you using mine as a pattern. They work very well and do not appear to be hard to make.

Pick up some plywood, threaded rod, and eyehooks, come by and we can make a pair for you using mine as a pattern. They work very well and do not appear to be hard to make.