Off Topic Fish gripper/lipper

rastam4n

Site Sponsor
R.O.C. (Radio Operator's Certificate)
I've been using the same fish gripper/lipper for several years, and it has some flaws, mainly the handle is no longer adhered to the shaft, so it can slide off, no amount of glue or adhesive has proven to fix this issue... also if the fish is very angry they sometimes rip their lip open... maybe this model has some sharpe edges that are allowing this to happen... Anyhow, I am in the market for a couple of new ones preferably with no scales.

Suggestions? Which one do you like and why?

I use this kind, it's not sharp to puncture the lips but holds well, if I'm to keep the fish then can force trough the soft skin on bottom jaw
Also use it when salmon fishing for revive fish behind the boat just put extra rope on it ,one thing i scared a crap out of my self when forgot the fish was there and leaned over the side to grab the rigger ball 🙄😱, not sure what is called or the brand Screenshot_20230314-194922_Gallery.jpg20200801_061739.jpg

Get a Bogagrip. There are lots of imitations but nothing works as securely as the name brand original.

Those pictures are of a Boga Grip. I have been using it for over a decade and never lost a fish. Not cheap but after trying the Berkley years years ago I should have spent the money on a Boga in the first place. Mine does have the built in scale and weighs exactly one pound so you can hang in on a digital scale to be more accurate....... just don't forget to minus a pound....not that has ever happened to me in a tournament....... I really like the added security of a heavy rope tied to the Boga, great idea.