Off Topic Fall Smallmouth - Lake Erie Advice

Rob V

R.O.C. (Radio Operator's Certificate)
I’m a newbie to fall small mouth on lake erie (north shore) and I was hoping for some direction from some of the locals. I’m hoping to fish the turkey point/normandale and surrounding area. Any suggested depths, dates (october vs September or November ?) and baits would really be appreciated. I know asking for locations would be pushing it ! :) Thanks in advance for any help/info members might be able to offer.

If your looking for fall smallmouth much better of going out of Nanticoke. You'll need to spend sometime graphing as the fish move a lot. Somtimes you'll catch them in 40 ft others 20 ft. later october early november I find the best. Pictures below taken in October (was a really warm day) last year

Attachments

• fall small mouth.jpg
    fall small mouth.jpg
    142.4 KB · Views: 71
  • fall smallie.jpg
    fall smallie.jpg
    200.7 KB · Views: 70
Does anyone ever find smallmouth around the inner bay in the early fall?
Yes but they are very hit and miss. We picked up a few smallies last week while perchin off of Turkey point. Fishers glen is another popular spot when the fish follow baitfish to feed. These opportunities aren’t every day obviously.

Yes but they are very hit and miss. We picked up a few smallies last week while perchin off of Turkey point. Fishers glen is another popular spot when the fish follow baitfish to feed. These opportunities aren’t every day obviously.
I do think that the long point bass are much more bait followers than structure oriented fish once August comes around. There are a lot of bass in the inner bay early in the season that seem to completely vanish. There is always a few down the north shore and bluff bar, but the vast majority are hard to find.