Off Topic BOAT LAUCH / MARINA GAS PRICES??

fishstalker

It would be nice to see prices posted like Gasbuddy.
Especially to support 6-8 Sponsors.
Fill up, support a 6-8 Sponsor

Difference in price is whether it is ethanol free. Marina shores contains ethanol ( I assume 87 octane ) I got gas two weeks ago at Sandboy , paid 1.30 and it is high test 92 octane . Posts marina is also ethanol free , and pretty sure the rest of the guys at the Old Cut are as well. High test is the only fuel available that doesn’t contain ethanol , but comes with a cost !

Don't assume gasoline from a service station that is high grade is always ethanol free. It can vary from brand to brand, and sometimes even within the same brand in different parts of the province.

I read that Ontario is soon to mandate 10% minimum ethanol (E-10) in in all octane blends including premium.
I'm no expert, but the way I read it is that suppliers need to maintain an average of 10%. This means that they could offset selling 0% ethanol by also selling blends higher than 10%. They also don't have to include marine gas in the math, meaning that there shouldn't be a restriction on gas sold solely for marine purposes.

The only places you can be assured the premium gas is ethanol free are Canadian tire, Shell and Costco. All others are questionable unless they are specifically buying and advertising no ethanol.

The only places you can be assured the premium gas is ethanol free are Canadian tire, Shell and Costco. All others are questionable unless they are specifically buying and advertising no ethanol.

Esso too. Actually Esso is the supplier for CT and Costco.

I have tested reserve gas for ethanol not that long ago and found none. This was 87 oct. Also being $0.90/L is nice.

I used to haul the stuff.

So much is tender storage and everybody lines up behind each other loading in the same racks, pulling from the same tanks. Only the additives were unique, so they claimed.