Advice Needed: Gearing up for Walleye

anonymoose

I'm new to walleye trolling and I'm hoping to get my boat in shape to find some fish next season. I don't have much gear, but I do have an old manual downrigger and one old trolling rod/reel. I have an old 17' fiberglass bowrider that I'm not afraid to punch some holes in. I'm not sure how slow I can get it to idle along. The boat has a kicker bracket but I don't have a kicker at this time (I've got a couple old short shaft tiller motors but I'm not sure whether they could hook up for steering/throttle). I'm not really interested in installing a planer board mast at this time.

My thought is to install the old downrigger, and use my existing spinning rods with it. It has 2 rod holders so I suppose I could stack 2 lines off of it. I'd need to get a weight and some clips. Looking for advice on what weight and clips to buy.

Next, install a rod holder on each side of the boat to use for dipseys. Looking for advice on what rods and dipseys to buy. I'm assuming line counters are pretty much mandatory? Thoughts on the Okuma Great Lakes trolling combos? What rod holders should I look for?

Last, I was thinking about installing a third rod holder and running leadcore down the chute using the old trolling combo I have on hand.

My thought here is that this would get 4-5 lines out at a reasonable cost. Any advice is appreciated. If you have any used gear you'd like to sell let me know.

Thanks!

Got my line counter rod real combo in Woodstock from fun time I think it's called but not 100%. $120 and they put braid on it. For most part I used #0 Dipsy 125ft back on #3 setting but this year I might try a #1 dypsy. Only thing I had to learn the hard way is measure your line to match counter

Okuma blue diamond rod for dipsy is my recommendation, can’t go wrong with the convector reel as a combo. I would use braid for the dipsy- makes it easy to pull the trip.