Search results

1. S

Sliver bass

I have eaten them and thought they were fine. However, I have been advised not to freeze them. I have no experience myself but been told by several guys who are commercial fishermen that they are mushy after freezing.
  2. S

Off Topic Animal identification??

Tail looks clear to me. I would say with 90% certainly a coyote in poor condition possibly with mange. A lot of them look like this.
  3. S

The Redneck Fish and Game Washing Bucket/Pail: The Most Simplest and Fastest Way I Have Ever Seen to Wash Fillets and More.

I made one of these about three years ago and thought it was so great I made up a bunch more to give to friends. They are also wonderful for cleaning birds (ducks/pheasant). Swirling in the cold water removes blood from the meat and any loose feathers float to surface and out the top.
  4. S

Rudder for bow mount trolling motor.

That makes a lot of sense to me. Will be thinking about a quick on/off attachment. I could see it being great for smallies and walleye but would want it off to stalk the shallows for LM 🤔
  5. S

Turkeys are gobbling already !

I went for a walk in the bush behind my house this afternoon. Never many turkeys here in winter. They generally start showing up around the first of April. I walked slow, looked for tracks, scratching or feathers…..nothing😞. I had brought a tall can of a favourite beverage and sat on a log to...
  6. S

What decoys to start season with

I don’t know Sonny. I few times picking up on a cold dark December evening with freezing hands and leaking waders I thought I had WAY too many 😉
  7. S

What decoys to start season with

Mallards are very good general purpose decoys. If you are in the right spot and well hidden almost all puddle ducks will come to them. You don’t mention a motion decoy. If you don’t have one of those I would invest in that before a lot of other species. I always mix my spread up but I have too...
  8. S

Steel shot and Doves