Looking for fishfinder recommendations

whitbytrader

My Hummingbird fishfinder crapped out this week and I am looking to replace it. Looking at the Lowrance hook 7 triple shot as a possibility. Has anyone had any experience with this model? Lowrance dependability issues? Looking to spend about $700 any other recommendations?

I have the Lowrance hook 7 Splitshot HDI, CHIRP, Downscan, Track-back with Navionics+...a must have. This is my first year with it and still a learning curve but so far, enjoying it, no regrets.

Got two Humminbird Helix’ from Sail at 30% off (last fall and this spring). Very happy with them. If you can swing it, get sidescan.

The big sales at Sail on finders... aren’t always advertised in flyers. Last year’s models are discounted on their website if you search them.

I have an Elite 5 works great for me if settings are right. Every once and a while I mess with it. But always get it back so I can pickup fish and tell my crew to get ready. Here comes one .

Sail has the Lowrance 7 inch Triple Shot Hook2 with US/Can Nav+ on for $699.99 including free shipping or the 9 inch Hook2 TripleShot for $300 off only in store.

Last edited:
I have an Elite 5 works great for me if settings are right. Every once and a while I mess with it. But always get it back so I can pickup fish and tell my crew to get ready. Here comes one .

That happens all the time on my boat..................................... and then nothing happens. LOL

Personally I don't have a Lowrance @whitbytrader , but I see them everywhere so I don't think you would go wrong with one.

Last edited:
Sail has the Lowrance 7 inch Triple Shot Hook2 with US/Can Nav+ on for $699.99 including free shipping or the 9 inch Hook2 TripleShot for $300 off only in store.

That's a great price for that 7"! I paid that for my Split Shot (one step down) plus gas to go to Vaughan and back.
Good post Wave Runner!